Photos | Classifieds | Stewartville Area Community Links | Area Churches | Life | Legal Notices
Think Stewartville | Stewartville, MN and surrounding area

home : sports : sports
April 11, 2021

12/21/2020 10:16:00 AM
Eickhoff tops Tiger football honors
Tiger junior linebacker Riley Eickhoff (#7) assets on the tackle with teammates Will Laures (left) and Eddie Becker.
Tiger junior linebacker Riley Eickhoff (#7) assets on the tackle with teammates Will Laures (left) and Eddie Becker.
Bill Schroeder
Sports Editor

Riley Eickhoff, a 6-2, 225-pound junior linebacker, has been selected to the first-team defense of the 2020 Post Bulletin All-Area Football team. Eickhoff was the backbone of the Stewartville defense. The junior linebacker had 65 tackles, three TFLs and one sack. He was named All-Southeast Red District. The team captain was a monster and held the Tigers together during a trying season. "He has a great combination of size and speed," Stewartville coach Garrett Mueller said. "Riley led our team in tackles this year and was the captain of our defense. He is an outstanding leader and made our team defense better whenever he was on the field."
Nolan Stier, a 6-2, 160-pound senior wide receiver, has been selected to the second-team offense of the 2020 Post Bulletin All-Area team. Stier played in only three games, but hauled in 20 catches for 211 yards and three touchdowns. He battled injuries but still managed to be one of the most electric wideouts in the area.
Will Tschetter, a 6-8, 230-pound senior quarterback, has been selected as an honorable mention player on the 2020 Post Bulletin All-Area team. He racked up 1,085 yards and 13 touchdowns along with one rushing TD in six games this season. Also, Tschetter was one of just 16 Class AAA football players to earn Academic All-State honors.
Eickhoff (LB/TE), Tschetter (QB) and Stier (WR), were also selected to the All-Southeast Red District first team.
Named All Southeast Red District honorable mention were, Caden King (OL/DL), Will Laures (DB/WR), Eddie Becker (LB), Alex Wood (RB/ LB), Parker Klavetter (LB/RB), Alex Larson (DB/WR), and Owen Sikkink (RB).
Tiger team awards included: Tschetter (offensive MVP); Eickhoff (defensive MVP); Grant Lee and Nate Smidt (special teams MVP); Caden King (Lineman of the Year); Eli Klavetter and Dalton Smith (Scout Team Player of the ear); Owen Sikkink (Most Improved); Alex Wood, Parker Klavetter, Cole Jannsen, and Christian Sackett (Tiger Pride Award).

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments. You may remain anonymous. Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

Engagement Announcement Form

Submit Sports Results

Submit Article/Photo

Delays and Closings

Mortgage Rates

Gas Prices

Daily Comics

Flight Tracking

Find more about Weather in Stewartville, MN
Click for weather forecast

Galaxy Publications LLC - Publishers of the Stewartville STAR and SATELLITE 101 4th Street NE #2, PO Box 35 • Stewartville, MN 55976 • Phone (507) 533-4271 email:
Software © 1998-2021 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved